Latest News

Guj CM lays stone of Rs 2.50cr memorial to tribal freedom fighter Guru Govind at Karath-Kamboi

Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani today laid the foundation stone of district tourism development works of a memorial to tribal Guru Govind near his Samadhi at Karath-Kamboi in Dahod district costing Rs.2.50-crore and a Kedarnath Mahadev Temple costing Rs.3.20-crore to develop the region as a tourist place.

Mr. Rupani paid his obeisance to the tribal Guru who along with tribal freedom fighters had fought the British army during India’s freedom struggle. He also felicitated the tribal Guru’s grandsons Pratapgiri Maharaj and Chhatragiri Maharaj, as well as physically challenged Jignaben Ninama who had won gold medal at Special Khel Mahakumbh-2018.

He also dedicated on the occasion newly created Sanjeli and Jhalod taluka bhavans in Dahod district built at a cost of Rs.4.80-crore.

Speaking on the occasion, he said that Central Government has allocated Rs.50,000-crore for tribal welfare in this year’s budget. The Van Bandhu project for the entire tribal belt from Ambaji to Umargam is worth Rs.80,000-crore. The State Government has started medical colleges at Dahod and Surat, Eklavya School, etc.

Talking about development works in Dahod district, he said that 75 per cent of Rs.1,100-crore Kadana dam-based irrigation project is nearing completion, while gas kits have been distributed to 1.64-lakh in the district.

Union Minister of State for Tribal Welfare Jashwantsinh Bhabhor said that Guru Govind’s dream for the development of the tribal community was fulfilled today. The Central Government has built 1.20-crore houses under Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojna for the poor, besides Saubhagya and Ujjwala Yojna also.

Dahod Collector Vijay Kharadi welcomed the guests.

Those present on the occasion included Tribal Minister Ganpatsinh Vasava, Ministers                    of State Jaydrathsinhji Parmar, Bachubhai Khabad and Ishwarsinh Patel, leader Amit Thakar, MLAs Ramesh Katara and Shaileshbhai Bhabhor, District Panchayat President Yogeshbhai Pargi, BJP District President Shankarbhai Amaliyar, DDO R.K. Patel and office-bearers of Guru Govind Trust.

Source: Information Department, Gujarat