Latest News

Guj CM Shri Vijaybhai Rupani Attended “ Tana Riri Mahotsav – 2019 “ at Vadnagar.

    Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani felicitated vocalists Ashwini Bhide and Piu Sarkhel with Tana-Riri Awards, comprising citation, shawls and Rs.2.50-lakh in cash, at the Tana-Riri Classical Music Mahotsav at the historic town of Vadnagar in north Gujarat.

    The Tana-Riri festival is being held by the State Government every year to commemorate the sacrifices of famous Gujarati poet Narsinh Mehta’s great-granddaughters Tana and Riri. Padma Shri Anuradha Paudwal who rendered classical and Gujarati songs, was the star attraction, while Tana-Riri awardees and Dhwani Vacchrajani, Gargi Vora and Bhakti Joshi also enthralled the audience with their rendition.

    Three records for Guinness Book of World Records were broken at the festival, along with Limca Book of Record and World Record Book of India.

    One group of 150 percussionists in the age group of 6-60, including ten physically challenged students, from the Tabla Taleem Sanstha simultaneously played 28 taals on tabla in 28 minutes. Another group of 108 flautists played the tune based on Mahatma Gandhi’s favourite song ‘Vaishnavjan-to-tene-re Kahiye…’ in raag Khamaj to mark the 150 th birth anniversary of Gandhiji. The third record was broken by danseuse Shitalben Barot depicting nine moods in Bharatnatyam dance form in a single minute.

    Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Rupani reiterated his government government’s commitment to preserve and promote music, arts, literature, culture and sports for the future generations. He considered music as divine.

    He earlier offered prayer at the famous Hatkeshwar Mahadev temple in the town. He also went round the exhibition arranged by ASI on the development of Vadnagar.

    Those present at the function included Cooperation and Cultural Affairs Minister Ishwarsinh Patel, District Guardian Minister Vibhawariben Dave, State Sangeet Natak Academy Chairman Pankajbhai Bhatt, prominent citizen Somabhai Patel, MPs Shardaben Patel and Jugalji Lokhandwala, MLAs Rishikesh Patel, Raman Patel, Ashaben Patel and Ajmalji Thakor, Principal Secretary for Youth and Cultural Affairs C.V. Som, District Collector H. K. Patel, DDO M.Y. Dakshini and other officers of the taluka, prant and municipality.

    Source: Information Department, Gujarat