Latest News

President inaugurates newly constructed 1088 houses under ‘PMAY (Urban)’ in Bhavnagar

    Governor and Chief Minister joins President in inaugration


    Gandhinagar, Friday:  The President of India Mr. Ramnath Kovind inaugurated the newly constructed 1088-EWS-1 Housing at Bhavnagar at a cost of Rs. 58.83 crore under Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Urban).  Gujarat Governor Acharya Devvrat and Chief Minister Mr. Bhupendra Patel joined President on the occasion.

    On the occasion of inauguration of these newly constructed houses of PMAY in Bhavnagar Municipal Corporation area, the President sent best wishes to the beneficiaries stepping in the houses before Diwali.

    The President handed over the keys of hoses to 5 beneficiaries. On this occasion, a presentation was made to the President by the Urban Housing Department of Gujarat showing the roadmap for realizing the Prime Minister’s resolution of housing for all in Gujarat by 2022.

    Apart from 2 rooms, wash area, kitchen, toilet and bathroom facilities, PNG gas pipeline connection are also provided to the beneficiaries in these houses constructed in Bhavnagar under Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Urban). Not only this, the houses also have facilities like lift, fire safety, community hall, children’s play area, street light etc.

    The President appreciated the state-of-the-art housing facilities including the PNG pipeline. He expressed satisfaction over the progress of the housing project sector in Gujarat including PMAY and also provided necessary guidance. As many as 8.24 lakh houses have been sanctioned in Gujarat so far under Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana. Out of which work on 5.53 lakh houses has been completed and work on the remaining houses is in progress at various stages, it was stated in the presentation.

    Housing Commissioner Shri Lochan Sehra and Bhavnagar Municipal Commissioner Shri M.A. Gandhi outlined the Affordable Housing Project to the President. Mrs. Savita Kovind, wife of the President was also present on the occasion.

    Education Minister Mr. Jitubhai Vaghani, MP Dr. Bhartiben Shiyal, Mayor Shri Kirtibala Danidhariya, MLA Vibhavariben Dave, District Collector, District Development Officer and officials were present on the occasion.

    Source: Information Department, Gujarat